Daily Archives: February 17, 2010

…there is no place like home

Guess where I went this weekend.  My only sister is 37 weeks pregnant with my first nephew and so the girls (and my Dad) took a road trip to the great state of Kansas to attend her shower.  I was so happy to be near her in this final stage of pregnancy.  She is a trooper- trying to finish up residency, keeping a house, growing a baby and being a wife all at the same time- I am exhausted thinking about it.  Because it was a long weekend, it worked out to be the best time for a shower, but this meant I had to abandon Jay with all four little ones over Valentines weekend…. happy valentines Sweets.   He took it like a man, though he had 1 bed wetting and a dog accident on the same morning, took the kids hiking, made 3 dinners, gave 4 of them baths before church (and made it to the early service), gave 2 spelling tests, made 1 trip to the airport to welcome home an adoptive family, finished 3 loads of laundry, all without complaining….    I thoroughly enjoyed my time away- it is amazing how resting a kidless trip can be, but was so excited to get home to them.  I couldn’t imagine a place I would rather be then in the middle of the chaos with my Valentine.

not one of them ended up on craigs list- impressive

wait for it...

wait for it...

sweetest thing ever

3 Comments

Filed under parenting