ikey’s day

….happened to be mother’s day this year.  we shared it well :)

I can’t imagine a better way to celebrate mother’s day than with my two favorite mothers and the one who first called me by that name at my grandma’s churches annual Mother Daughter Banquet.

We were actually recognized for having four generations there together.  Blessed are we.

our mini entomologist wanted a birthday party centered around creepy crawly things…

and thats exactly what he got.

We went on a yard-wide bug hunt which proved more difficult than anticipated.  Apparently, May snow keeps the bugs at bay.

But eventually we found a few…..

One of particular interest….

We thought it was important for kids to see the one spider around here that they cannot touch, so we captured it… for a good cause.

“and this, kids, is what a black widow looks like.”

Havi took full advantage of the bug hunt, having a hunt of her own at the kitchen table.

They also watched King Peter and his sidekick devour crickets.

But lest you think Ikey/Mother’s day was completely dirt, insects, and poisonous spiders ….. there was some 4 year old sweetness going on.

Ikey asked to be held yesterday right in the middle of my kitchen cleaning frenzy, and something against my character told me to put down everything and pick him up.  We swayed as Pandora played “It is Well With my Soul” and he laid his head on my shoulder.  I realized, in that moment, I don’t ever hold Noah like this anymore so somewhere between four and five, this will stop.  I will never realize when I am holding him for the last time, but there will be a last time.  WHY don’t I do this more.  I love his age.  He is still wading in the puddles of toddlerhood, but mostly he is a kid.  There are only glimpses, like his thumb in his mouth, his strange speech impediment (which, come to think of it, might be related) or times when he just wants to be in my arms that he still seems so little.  But even these will fade.  I love it and dread it but I’m happy that I get to witness so much of it as his mom.

The best job in the world.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “ikey’s day

  1. Cute bug party…Joshua would be sooo excited about that :)

  2. Wendy

    Leah, that was lovely. You have such a way with words.

  3. mom

    It is, indeed, the best job in the world, for those with eyes to see. To hold a creature of eternity in your arms, to affect his eternal personality, to feed him wisdom and light, to show him Jesus in all of His everyday appearances: what job more terrifying, more glorious ?

  4. Happy 2 years home Havi!
    Blessings from the Stamm’s

Leave a Reply

