first stage

It is always a surreal time in parenthood when your kids pass you in their ability.  Sometimes it has been humbling like when she surpassed my English grammar skills this year… in second grade, or, delightful like when she is able to memorize scripture verses twice as fast as me.  It didn’t take her long to pass Jay and I in her new hobby.  Pretty much as soon as her first lesson was over, we were left in the dust. Though I have never hidden my love of the violin, it was Gracyn who begged me all last year to sign her up to take lessons.  She saved her allowance for more than a year and paid for half of the used violin herself.  I don’t think she is any sort of phenom when it comes to learning this instrument but we are amazed at what she has been able to accomplish in 8 short months.

Yesterday she did the hardest thing parents require of their kids when they are better than us at something- show it off.   I think we were more nervous than she was, but we didn’t need to be.  She was the newest student and played the “easiest” song, but she didn’t seem to care- even when the kid in front of her got sick with nerves she was fine.  We couldn’t have been more proud of her as she stood up on the little riser and played the song she has been working on diligently for several weeks- such confidence, such grace, such beauty…

getting ready and intently watching how all the other students were preparing....

waiting her turn...

... what nerves?

all smiles with Miss Alissa afterwards

5 Comments

Filed under parenting

5 responses to “first stage

  1. Tia

    GG I’m so proud of you!

  2. WAHOOO!!! As a former band teacher I say- WELL DONE! :)

  3. aunt sarahtops

    yay G!!!! that was amazing – so proud of you!

  4. Hannah Wyatt

    BRAVO, Gracyn!!! She is growing up way too fast :(

  5. Nana

    I was an proud eyewitness to the event! So much fun! I personally would have fainted, so she didn’t come by the “poise” gene from me.

Leave a Reply

